We did it!

As-salaamu alaykum/Hello…

Wasup, yall. WE DID IT!!

That’s right. WE did it. We’re a success. Remember that story “Strange Marriage”? Well it was a finalist at the 1432/2011 Muslim Writers Awards in London in the Unpublished Short Story category. I flew in from Saudi Arabia to attend at Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre. It was a cool, eclectic ceremony. We didn’t sit down; it was a big, open floor ceremony with lots of performances and chances to network in between award announcements.

At the 1432 Muslim Writers Awards ceremony

Ultimately, I didn’t get selected for the award, but being shortlisted from thousands of candidates was an honor in itself. More importantly, I got a chance to meet publishers face-to-face, so who knows, I might be in your local bookstore, or even box office, soon. In shaa-a-llaah…

Me & my brother Junayd

Last but not least, my brother came from Texas!!! He’s my best friend and confidante, and we hadn’t seen each other in 4 years. We’ve both been around the world and had children since then, so there was a lot to catch up on, mostly over fish-&-chips.

People were so surprised that we’d both come for so far, that they invited us VIP to a dinner two nights later (I had the steak…). Renowned scholar and author Tariq Ramadaan was the keynote speaker, and I got the chance to meet him and return the favor he’d done me with his book about Muhammad (sAaws) by giving him a copy of my book.

All in all it was a great trip, and the greatest part of it was sharing it with you. I felt like all of you were there with me, and I appreciate all the encouraging comments you wrote in response to “Strange Marriage”, as well as all the ‘salaams’ you’ve sent me via my brother.

To celebrate, I’ve arranged a special 10% discount to my book “purified pages”. No need to enter a special code, the price has already been automatically adjusted. Check it the paperback or the e-book.

Learn more about the Muslim Writers Awards on Facebook and their homepage.

See MWA’s pictures of the event here:

The saga continues…

9 comments on “We did it!

  1. Daniel,

    I am very happy for the joy I see in your writing. You are very blessed to have a sister like Eleanor who had the vision and then made the awesome decision to make it happen to get your brother there. It’s amazing that you have found the favor you have, Be sure to extend it to those closest to you. Thank you for your authenticity.

    Love Mom

Leave a Reply

